Apex and Scholar Awards

Agriculture in a Growing World

Mekdes Lombardi of Powell County High School in Montana won the 2013 Agriculture in a Growing World Essay Contest sponsored by Nutrients for Life. As part of Mekdes’s prize she was invited to the American Farm Bureau’s Annual Convention. Mekdes was also recognized at the Foundation’s Flapjack Fundraiser on January 12th.

The Apex Award

The Apex award is achieved when a state has donated 10% more to the Foundation than in the previous year. In 2013 25 state Farm Bureaus received Apex Awards: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, New Hampshire, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Utah, Washington and West Virginia.


The Scholar Award

The Scholar Award is given to 6 states – one from each member group – and is awarded to the state Farm Bureau with the highest total donations in that member group.

State Farm Bureaus receiving the Scholar Award were: Colorado, Delaware, Illinois, Michigan, Pennsylvania and Virginia. The Scholar Award was given to the six state Farm Bureaus with the highest total donations within their membership groups. The Scholar Award is a “traveling” award.







The Award of Excellence

The Award of Excellence is presented to a state Farm Bureau when all of the county Farm Bureaus in that state qualify for a County Leader Award. This is a special engraved award that varies from year to year.

Delaware Farm Bureau received the Award of Excellence. To qualify for this award, a state Farm Bureau and all of the county Farm Bureaus within the state must donate to the Foundation.